Alberta · Last checked
Where can you ride an e-bike in Banff?
In Banff National Park, Parks Canada allows e-bikes only on paved roads and highways (including the Bow Valley Parkway), plus pedal-assist e-bikes on the trail segments it lists, such as the Banff Legacy Trail, Sundance and Fenland trails. Inside the Town of Banff, pedal-assist e-bikes of 35 kg or less may use town trails and multi-use pathways, the whole town has a 30 km/h limit for bikes and e-bikes, and sidewalk riding is not allowed. Roam Transit carries bikes free on its buses, but its bike policy doesn't mention e-bikes.
2 transit rules 5 path & park rules 7 trails 8 sources
Map of e-bike trails in Banff
Trail pin key
- E-bikes: Allowed 1 trail
- E-bikes: Pedal-assist only 6 trails
- E-bikes: Not allowed 0 trails
- E-bikes: Varies 0 trails
7 trails are on the map. The full list, with sources, is under Trails.
Can you take an e-bike on transit in Banff?
Bikes and e-bikes on buses, trains and ferries: the rules for Roam Transit local routes (Banff, Canmore) and Roam Transit regional routes (Canmore-Banff, Lake Louise, seasonal Johnston Canyon and Moraine Lake).
| Agency | Rule | Season | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Roam Transit local routes (Banff, Canmore) | Bikes ride free: up to three on the outside rack, first come, first served. If the rack is full, 2 or 3 bikes may go inside at the driver's discretion, and must move to the rack when space opens. Racks take wheels up to 29 in. Roam's bike policy does not mention e-bikes. | Not stated | Transportation Policies (Bike Policy), Roam Transit (Bow Valley Regional Transit Services Commission), checked |
| Roam Transit regional routes (Canmore-Banff, Lake Louise, seasonal Johnston Canyon and Moraine Lake) | Up to three bikes on the outside rack, plus up to three inside, strapped in, if the bus has an interior bike rack (otherwise none inside). In Banff, regional riders with bikes board only at the Banff High School Transit Hub, using the bike queue, unless there is space at later stops. Roam's bike policy does not mention e-bikes. | Not stated | Transportation Policies (Bike Policy), Roam Transit (Bow Valley Regional Transit Services Commission), checked |
Can you ride an e-bike on paths and in parks in Banff?
City rules for multi-use paths, parks, the waterfront and sidewalks.
-
Banff National Park trails
Parks Canada's Restricted Activity Order bans e-bikes everywhere in the park except paved roads and highways; pedal-assist e-bikes are also allowed on the trail segments it lists (see the trail pins and FAQ). Parks Canada counts as pedal-assist only an e-bike with handlebars and working pedals, no more than three wheels, motor(s) totalling 500 W or less that stop assisting when you stop pedalling and at 32 km/h, and a motor that can't engage below 3 km/h. Riding non-designated or closed trails, or off-trail, is illegal for all bikes; the maximum fine under the order is $25,000.
Sources: Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Biking - Banff National Park, Parks Canada, checked
-
Banff National Park roads
E-bikes are permitted on paved roads and highways, including the Bow Valley Parkway. Road closures, speed limits and traffic controls apply to cyclists. Bow Valley Parkway seasonal travel restriction: from March 1 to June 25, no travel at all (bikes included) between 8 p.m. and 8 a.m. on the 17 km section from Johnston Canyon Campground to the Fireside Picnic Area.
Sources: Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked Biking - Banff National Park, Parks Canada, checked The Bow Valley Parkway (cycling pilot, 2026 dates), Parks Canada, checked
-
Town of Banff trails and multi-use pathways (Bylaw 16-9)
Only 'pedal electric bicycles' are allowed: the motor assists only when you pedal, the e-bike weighs 35 kg or less, and it can't reach more than 35 km/h on level ground. They are allowed unless signs say otherwise; gas-powered bikes and other motor vehicles are not. On trails and pathways e-bike riders must yield to pedestrians, to people on regular (non-motorized) bikes and to hoofed animals.
Sources: Road, Sidewalk and Trail Use Bylaw 16-9 (passed January 26, 2022), Town of Banff, checked Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked
-
Town of Banff speed limit
30 km/h everywhere in town, and it applies to bikes and e-bikes too.
Source: Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked
-
Town of Banff sidewalks
No riding bikes or e-bikes on sidewalks (young children excepted); ride on the road or on multi-use trails, and walk your bike on sidewalks.
Sources: Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked Road, Sidewalk and Trail Use Bylaw 16-9 (passed January 26, 2022), Town of Banff, checked
E-bike trails in Banff
7 trails and trail systems where an official page states the e-bike rule.
-
Banff Legacy Trail
E-bikes: Pedal-assist onlyPedal-assist e-bikes allowed. 22.3 km from the Bow Valley Parkway to the park's East Gate (26.8 km to Canmore). Open mid-April to mid-October, weather permitting; not cleared of snow in winter. Max 20 km/h advised; yield to slower users; roll across the electrified wildlife mats without stopping.
Sources: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Banff Legacy Trail, Parks Canada, checked
-
Fenland Trail
E-bikes: Pedal-assist only2.1 km loop on Parks Canada's list of trails open to pedal-assist e-bikes.
Source: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked
-
Sundance Trail
E-bikes: Pedal-assist only3.7 km one way on Parks Canada's list of trails open to pedal-assist e-bikes. The order covers the paved trail from the Cave and Basin to the Sundance Canyon Loop; e-bikes are not allowed on the unpaved Marsh Loop.
Sources: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked
-
Brewster Creek Trail
E-bikes: Pedal-assist only8.5 km one way on Parks Canada's list of trails open to pedal-assist e-bikes (from the Healy Creek Trail junction to Sundance Lodge).
Sources: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked
-
Bow Valley Parkway (cycling pilot section)
E-bikes: AllowedE-bikes are permitted on the parkway. In 2026 the eastern 17 km (Fireside Day-use Area to Johnston Canyon) was closed to public vehicles for cyclists from April 30 to June 25 (8 a.m. to 8 p.m. only) and September 1 to October 6; the pilot runs 2025-2030 and dates change each year.
Sources: The Bow Valley Parkway (cycling pilot, 2026 dates), Parks Canada, checked Biking - Banff National Park, Parks Canada, checked
-
Lake Louise area: Bow River, Great Divide and Tramline trails
E-bikes: Pedal-assist onlyPedal-assist e-bikes are allowed on the Bow River (up to 5.7 km one way), Great Divide (9.8 km) and Tramline (4.3 km) trails, and on the Louise Creek Trail only between the Great Divide and Tramline trail junctions.
Sources: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked
-
Town of Banff trails and multi-use pathways
E-bikes: Pedal-assist onlyTown Bylaw 16-9 allows pedal electric bicycles (assist only when pedalling, 35 kg or less) unless signs say otherwise; yield to walkers, regular cyclists and hoofed animals; 30 km/h town-wide limit.
Sources: Road, Sidewalk and Trail Use Bylaw 16-9 (passed January 26, 2022), Town of Banff, checked Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked
Banff e-bike FAQ
Which trails in Banff National Park allow e-bikes?
Only pedal-assist e-bikes, and only on the trail segments in Parks Canada's Restricted Activity Order. Parks Canada's e-bike page lists: Banff Legacy Trail, Sundance, Fenland, Tunnel Campground Loop, Cascade Ponds-Bankhead, Banff Avenue Trail, Brewster Creek, Redearth, Surprise Corner to Hoodoos, Tunnel Bench Loop, Tunnel Technical Trails, The Toe and Topp Notch near Banff, plus Bow River, Great Divide and Tramline near Lake Louise. The order also allows parts of the Healy Creek and Louise Creek trails, and Shadow Lake Trail from December 15 to March 15 only. E-bikes are banned on all other trails.
Sources: E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17), Parks Canada, checked Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025), Parks Canada, checked
Can I ride my e-bike on the Bow Valley Parkway?
Yes, e-bikes are permitted on the parkway. In 2026 the eastern 17 km was closed to public vehicles for cyclists April 30 to June 25 (8 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and September 1 to October 6; some service vehicles still use it. From March 1 to June 25 nobody may travel that section between 8 p.m. and 8 a.m.
Sources: The Bow Valley Parkway (cycling pilot, 2026 dates), Parks Canada, checked Biking - Banff National Park, Parks Canada, checked
Can I take my e-bike on Roam Transit?
Roam carries bikes free (three on the outside rack, more inside at the driver's discretion or on interior racks on regional buses), but its bike policy doesn't mention e-bikes. Ask Roam before relying on it for a heavy e-bike.
Source: Transportation Policies (Bike Policy), Roam Transit (Bow Valley Regional Transit Services Commission), checked
What is the speed limit for e-bikes in the Town of Banff?
30 km/h everywhere in town, for bikes and e-bikes too. On the Banff Legacy Trail, Parks Canada advises a maximum of 20 km/h.
Sources: Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked Banff Legacy Trail, Parks Canada, checked
Can I ride my e-bike on the sidewalk in Banff?
No. Ride on the road or on the town's multi-use trails and walk your bike on sidewalks. On trails, e-bike riders must yield to walkers and to people on regular bikes.
Sources: Share the Road, Town of Banff, checked Road, Sidewalk and Trail Use Bylaw 16-9 (passed January 26, 2022), Town of Banff, checked
What we could not confirm yet
- Roam Transit's bike policy gives no e-bike rule (weight, battery); ask Roam Transit.
- The Town's Share the Road page says 'power assisted and pedal bicycles' may use trails, but Bylaw 16-9 only lets in 'pedal electric bicycles' (assist only when pedalling, 35 kg or less). The bylaw is used here; throttle or heavier e-bike owners should check with the Town of Banff.
- Parks Canada's e-bike page and its Restricted Activity Order name the permitted trails differently (for example, the page lists 'Surprise Corner to Hoodoos', while the order bans all bikes on the 'Hoodoos Interpretive Trail'). Check the order's maps A to C before riding.
- Bow Valley Parkway cycling pilot dates are set yearly; 2027 dates not yet published on the page read.
Nearby cities on the map
Sources for Banff
We read each source on the date shown. Official sources are from the city, the transit agency, the parks authority or another public body.
- E-bikes - Banff National Park (modified 2025-09-17) Parks Canada Official Checked
- Biking - Banff National Park Parks Canada Official Checked
- Banff Legacy Trail Parks Canada Official Checked
- The Bow Valley Parkway (cycling pilot, 2026 dates) Parks Canada Official Checked
- Transportation Policies (Bike Policy) Roam Transit (Bow Valley Regional Transit Services Commission) Official Checked
- Share the Road Town of Banff Official Checked
- Road, Sidewalk and Trail Use Bylaw 16-9 (passed January 26, 2022) Town of Banff Official Checked
- Restricted Activity: Electric bicycles (e-bikes), Banff National Park (issued March 28, 2025) Parks Canada Official Checked
Made by Zeus Ebikes
Zeus E-Bike Map is published by Zeus Ebikes Inc., an online e-bike retailer in Canada. Before you ride anywhere public, check that your e-bike meets the rules where you ride.